A quote that made me think #1

‘In real love you want the other person’s good. In romantic love you want the other person’.
I kind of instantly agree with this and it kind of makes me feel really bad about myself. Here’s what I liked; the acceptance that there are many different kinds of love which is something I have definitely come to realise over the past few years. I also liked the idea that romance, which I take here to be infatuation, is entirely based around one person. It’s not rational; the person could be totally psychotic, or actually just not the right person for you. This chimes a chord with me.
What I don’t like, is the differentiation between real and romantic, and the intimation that the two don’t go together. Aren’t all forms of love, even if you don’t end up with the person, real? Also, I find it constrictive to say that love isn’t real unless you have some quasi realistic/maybe just resigned feeling that the other person is ‘good’. I believe we should never settle when it comes to love, and for me, saying some-one is ‘good’ just isn’t enough.

Leave a Reply

